Incumbents retain seats in Rochester races; Republicans dominate the state

The Republican incumbents retained their seats on the Rochester City Council in Tuesday’s municipal general election.


In District 3, Brian Fitzwater defeated Democrat Bryan Holcomb for a second time in a city council race.  This time, by a 72-39 margin.


In District 5, John Garrett took 58% of the vote in a 125-90 win over Democrat Joshua Zehner.


In Warsaw, Republicans swept the contested city council races.  Josh Finch, Jeff Gross, Michael Klondaris, Jerry Frush and Diane Quance were all victorius.

The offices of mayor and clerk-treasurer in Warsaw were uncontested.


Republicans controlled elections in Plymouth, as well.  Mark Senter defeated Josh Walker for mayor 809-724.  Meanwhile, Republican Jeanine Xaver defeated Cathy Wraight 892-616 to win Plymouth clerk-treasurer.


In Logansport, Republican Chris Martin narrowly defeated Democrat Dave Kitchell 1042 – 985 to win the mayor’s race.


A Democrat incumbent was ousted in the Peru mayoral race where Republican challenger Miles Hewitt was a winner over Gabe Greer 841-691.  Independent Chris Wolfe was a distant third.

Hewitt is a 38-year veteran of the Peru Police Department and defeated two challengers back in the primary.  This was his first election.


The Indiana Republican Party achieved a new record in this year’s municipal elections, ending the 2019 cycle with 70 Republican mayors throughout Indiana. This involved flipping 19 mayoral offices, including those in traditional Democrat strongholds Kokomo, Muncie, Logansport and Michigan City.

Republicans now hold 23 more mayoral offices than Democrats, another record.

Independents' total of four mayor's seats is down one. Republicans had a net gain of six, while Democrats lost seven. 

Community News