Area schools corporations receive funds for school safety investments

The Indiana Secured School Board has approved more than $19 million in matching state grant funds, marking a second consecutive year of record-breaking school safety investments.


The $19.4 million in awards allows the Board to fully fund all eligible, top-priority projects identified over 400 schools in their applications to the Secured School Safety Grant program (SSSG). In addition, the Board fully funded all school threat assessment projects, as well as eligible projects geared toward implementing health and wellness support services for parents and students.


The SSSG fund is administered by the Indiana Department of Homeland Security. Including the funds committed this year, the SSSG program will have distributed more than $91 million in state matching grants to schools since the program became law in 2013.


The SSSG issues matching grants for eligible items and then schools match those funds at a certain level, either  25 percent, 50 percent or 100 percent. The match requirement is based on average daily membership of the school district, the total amount of the project or what the request covers.


Eligible items in the grant include funding for school resource officers (SROs) and law enforcement officers in schools; equipment and technology; active event warning systems; firearms training for teachers and staff that choose to allow guns on school property; threat assessments and to implement a student and parent support services program.


Among area school corporations receiving funds:


In Fulton County:

Caston School Corporation, $40,000

Rochester Community School Corp, $30,000


In Marshall County

Argos Community Schools, $40,000

Bremen Public Schools, $26,435

Culver Community Schools Corp, $100,000

Plymouth Community School Corp, $22,388


In Pulaski County

West Central School Corp, $40,000


In Starke County:

Knox Community School Corp, $19,800

North Judson-San Pierre Sch Corp, $32,716

Oregon-Davis School Corp, $14,994


In Kosciusko County:

Tippecanoe Valley School Corp, $100,000

Warsaw Community Schools, $100,000

Wawasee Community School Corp, $75,000


In Miami County:

Maconaquah School Corp, $46,000

North Miami Community Schools, $18,000

Peru Community Schools, $70,852


In Cass County:

Lewis Cass Schools, $32,000

Logansport Community Sch Corp, $100,000

Pioneer Regional School Corp,  $43,000


In Wabash County:

M S D Wabash County Schools, $45,000

Manchester Community Schools,  $23,280

Wabash City Schools, $20,000


Community News